Drenge – Undertow – Review

Get some Ibuprofen in – this one’s going to hurt a bit. Stuart Walker renews man love for Drenge and their new album…

Ominous yet strangely compelling, Undertow, the new album from Drenge begins with an intro that sucks you into their new, slicker and rockier world.

Since their emergence in early 2013 the chaps from the Peak District have been slowly but surely becoming the darlings of the post punk music press and their self-titled debut album reinforced the angry young men image.

The anger is still there yes and appears in spades in 'We can do what we want' but the brothers seem to have honed their rock and roll writing to the extent that the initial riff almost pulls in a bit of Status Quo. Almost. You can keep your jean jacket in the wardrobe though as the track gets gnarly satisfyingly quickly and finishes with a guitar ending that has 1978 punk writ large.

Favourite Son brings the addition of synth and sarcasm, showing that Drenge have matured as songwriters. The track doesn't feel the need to power all the way through like a demented Duracel bunny but takes an interesting detour along the way and the machine gun staccato delivery in the track gives the impression of a Gilbert and Sullivan 'patter man'

Eoin Loveless - Drenge

[soundcloud url="https://api.soundcloud.com/playlists/93171706" params="auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true" width="100%" height="330" iframe="true" /]

Eoin Loveless - Drenge

The twosome have become a threesome and the addition of Rob Graham on bass is a worthwhile one. 'Snake' has a fuller, darker and more malevolent Drenge sound but shows more of the evolving structure the boys have adopted.

Title track 'Undertow' displays the talents of producer Ross Orton. It's slowed down, held back and is more powerful as a result feeling that it makes it's point in a determined yet wordless fashion.

[blue_box]Track List

  1. Introduction
  2. Running Wild
  3. Never Awake
  4. We Can Do What We Want
  5. Favourite Son
  6. The Snake
  7. Side by Side
  8. The Woods
  9. Undertow
  10. Standing in the Cold
  11. Have you Forgotten My Name


Overall this collection is more Clash than early pistols, with rock structures rather than punk anarchy. It's an evolving Drenge sound, but still Drenge. Current fans will like and new fans will be found.


Undertow is out April 6th.

You can buy this on Amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00SMLZYM8 which you definitely should.

Hear it on soundcloud https://soundcloud.com/drenge/sets/undertow

Follow the boys on Le Livre de Visage https://www.facebook.com/drengeboys

and check out their site http://www.drenge.co.uk/

and do me a favour - like and share, like and share.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.